Skip to content

zoe & the beatles

just a twenty-something vegan navigating healthy, positive living with a little help from her friends john, paul, ringo & george!

happy new year!

i feel like it’s been ages.

it’s been busy over here on the california coast these past few days of the new year. i’ve been down to san diego and back. i’ve been to san francisco and back. put-put (my car) has been quite the trooper. i’ve been rock climbing my little heart out (i bouldered for about three hours yesterday. can we talk about the amount of strength and endurance i suddenly have? it’s blowing my mind) and managed to squeeze in a trip to cafe gratitude.

when you have five days off of work you make them count.

anyway, i want to take a moment to reflect. 2010 was a doozy, was it not? i’ve learned a lot and i hope you have, too. here’s a brief overlook of my year (because i don’t want to dwell on the past):

i’ve grown up. immensely. and i still have a lot more growing to do. i’ve run a 10k, i’ve run 10.5 miles. without stopping. i’ve fallen in love with yoga, re-fallen in love with running, and discovered my newest love: rock climbing. i’ve hurt myself and i’ve healed myself. i’ve learned i’m an amazing, beautiful, smart, and deserving person. i’ve learned the definition of love, of gratitude, of happiness. i’ve learned to trust my instincts, to know when to stop. i’ve learned humility. i’ve learned to be comfortable enough with myself to enter into a relationship (official today :)). today i learned i graduated college with a 3.5 and ended this semester with four A’s and one B+. i’ve accepted and acknowledged my strengths and my weaknesses. and i’ve found my way back to me. but i still have a long way to go.

i have a lot of intentions for this new year (goals ain’t for me. too much pressure). 2011 will be a transformative year. i can feel it. what do i intend to reach for?

go deeper into my yoga practice (already happening!)
start and complete my first 200 hours of yoga school
go to culinary school
get my tattoo (making the appointment tomorrow, actually!)
run a half marathon
run a marathon
cook as much as possible
finish the novel i started this past semester
cut white sugar out of my diet completely (seriously you guys, this shit just does not jive with me and i kind of need to accept it.)
attend counseling until i feel strong enough to stand on my own
love myself. completely.

what are your intentions for 2011?

here’s to a beautiful new year!

namaste

zoe

beatles song of the day: i saw her standing there (please please me)
why? because i just listened to it and it always makes me dance. whenever i am in a bad mood it makes me happy!

