Skip to content

zoe & the beatles

just a twenty-something vegan navigating healthy, positive living with a little help from her friends john, paul, ringo & george!

your skin care secrets that is!

as i became more aware of what i put into my body, i also started thinking about what i put on my body. suddenly, the long list of incredibly hard to pronounce, far too scientific words covering the backs of my lotions and face cleaners did not look so friendly. i took my face wash one day and popped onto google to figure out just what the hell i was scrubbing into my face every night. did i like what i found? no, not really.

so, i started my skin care routine over.

luckily, i never suffered from horrible skin issues. mild acne, dryness, and at times an over production of oil are the only symptoms i’ve ever experienced in my short twenty years of life. and, since giving up animal products, my skin breaks out less, is never dry, and is not longer oily. yay!

i also credit this to my skin care routine. what do i do to keep my skin glowing and clean? all right, this may sound odd but this is all i do: i take a cotton ball, douse it in olive oil, and rub it over my face. then i take a soft washcloth, wet it and gently rub it over my face using circular motion. the olive oil, believe it or not, clears the gunk out of your pores. it’s also a great eye make-up remover. it took off my waterproof mascara far better than any other eye make-up remover i’ve ever used. this, paired with a light exfoliation, keeps my skin clear and bright. i only wash my face at night and always take off my make up (though i only wear eye make-up and sunscreen).

and there you have it! i’d love to know if you’ve found a more natural way to take care of your skin. and while we’re at it, why don’t you tell me three things about yourself? i’d like to get to know the people who are reading this little blog of mine 🙂

i’ll go first!
1) i love change more than the average person. generally, i rearrange my room just about every six months. i did it yesterday! and when candace comes home (two weeks!) we’re overhauling our kitchen and living room.

2) i will be graduating college this fall only a few months after my 21st birthday and will do so in 3.5 years. considering budget cuts, this is pretty amazing!

3) i’m not afraid of heights like most people are. i’m afraid of looking at images taken underwater. so you know the scene in the beginning of titanic where the little submarine is scoping out the sunken boat? yeah, i watch that through my fingers.

it’s just about noon here on the california coast and i’ve already put a four hour work shift (hello 4:45 wake up call!) and a hour and fifteen minute yoga session behind me. i’m about ready to go out and enjoy the sunshine.

namaste!

zoe!

