Skip to content

zoe & the beatles

just a twenty-something vegan navigating healthy, positive living with a little help from her friends john, paul, ringo & george!

…anti-climactic.

don’t get me wrong, i wasn’t expecting a fireworks show and a million dollar check with my name on it the second i finished my shakespeare test but i thought last night was just going to be more…i don’t know, fun?

i did have fun, though. i hung out with a couple of different friends and made a pretty decent dinner. everything just feels so…i’m not sure i can even think of the right word. it’s raining outside again. nevermind june is only, oh, FOUR DAYS AWAY. seriously i think in these past two weeks alone we have gotten more rain than we did over winter break. is this a shift of our seasons? i really hope not, kidlettes!

mr. sun should come out. and soon. otherwise i’m not sure i will be able to handle this summer. let me go into further details about my summer plans now that it’s OFFICIALLY (!!!) here:

today when i go into work i am giving them my two weeks. i. am. THRILLED. i know i should be grateful to have a job, which i am, but i am not grateful for a job that pays me the absolute lowest wage they can get away with (minimum wage is 8 dollars an hour. yes, i know this could be a lot worse and i AM appreciative of the money i receive but…it’s hard to pay bills with 8 dollars an hour, folks.), they barely give me hours despite my good work ethic, and, to top it all off, they have these things call “call ins” where they schedule you on the schedule but you don’t necessarily work that day. you “call in” an hour before you’re supposed to “work” and they let you know if they need you. i’m pretty sure this is illegal? either way, it’s just a way to keep a person on the payroll without having to actually pay them. NOT. FUN. or fair. because we can’t do ANYTHING because we might be working so we have to stay in the area. um. what? (if you haven’t guessed it: i never call in. maybe that’s why they hate me :))

also, i work in retail. you would think i would of learned my lesson the last time i spent six months in retail but noo. i went right back to it. mainly cause they were the only ones hiring at the time and i needed a job. i am opposed to our materialistic culture. if it floats your boat, keep on floatin’, these are just my opinions. what i saw in south africa changed my life and my perspective. i don’t need to buybuybuy to be happy. i don’t even need anything, really, except food. i have plenty of clothes. plenty of shoes. a roof over my head. i am lucky. i am fortunate. if i don’t agree with something, it’s incredibly difficult for me to stick with it. i don’t quite agree with my job. i have to push products onto people that i a) don’t believe in and b) know come from third world countries. i don’t know. i’m just over it.

so yay. that’s awesome. but this is the most awesome part: I AM OFFICIALLY TAKING ON THE APPRENTICESHIP AT LA TARTINE! i am meeting the woman who owns the bakery tomorrow and discussing it with her. i am SO excited. it’s not a paid position but hey, the experience will be amazing and beneficial to my future. i’m thinking long term here! so that i am pumped up for.

not pumped up for: candace left yesterday. for two months. and before she left, she told me she might be staying till august 14th instead. on top of that my two other besties are leaving this weekend for a month. my other really close friend just left till mid-july. sure i have my high school besties coming home but no one is up here. i feel kind of…alone right now. uh oh: PITY PARTY!!!

in all seriousness though, i think this summer will be challenging, particularly emotionally. i have a difficult time being independent. i am taking this opportunity to embrace change. this summer is going to test my strength but you know what, i’m positive this is nothing i can’t handle. i’ve decided i need to force myself out of my comfort zone (like last summer!) and just go for it. no second thoughts. just do it. it will be an interesting process but i’m ready for the challenge! (for sure still nervous though!)

this morning i’m taking it easy. sipping on a newly concocted juice:
3/4 of a beet (!!), about a good quarter of a huuuge english cucumber, and a big carrot! (there’s a nub of ginger there but i forgot to throw it in!)

into the juicer they went!

ohlalaaa! so pretty!

following this i think oatmeal will be had. just lazing around until work. when i get off i have a massive yoga session planned. i am SUPER excited. which leads me to this: yogadownload is having a 40% off sale! if you’ve been thinking about gettinga yoga video, check these out. they’re cheap and GOOD! i really love them 🙂

that’s all for now kidlettes. have a good morning!

namate

zoe

